GB WIP : Lotus 72E - Ebbro 1/20

Any scale...

Topic author
CBartholomew4677
FOTA Chairman
FOTA Chairman
Your Name: Chris Bartholomew
Favorite F1 Team or Driver: Forza Ferrari!!!
United States of America

GB WIP : Lotus 72E - Ebbro 1/20

Post by CBartholomew4677 »

Hello All,
Now that the New Year is upon us, it is time for the Group Build to begin :D !!!

As previously indicated, my project is the Lotus 72E, in 1/20 scale from Ebbro.
Box Art.JPG
I am very pleased for Ebbro to have come to the 1/20 scale F1 party, and with some very cool subjects. This is my first build of an Ebbro kit, and I am pleased with what I’ve seen so far. That being said, let’s take a look at what we have to work with:

Plastic Parts:
Suitably molded in black and metallic grey, there is a decent amount of detail, somewhat similar to what I would expect in a kit from the big-T. I like that Ebbro included both a clear and yellow-tint windscreen. I’ll likely use the yellow-tint one.

Additional detail will be added based on reference pics, and what I think is necessary and appropriate without getting in way over my head (noooo, that never happens @ ……..Check my previous GB of the Brabham BT46 if you want to see such a thing unfold before your eyes .). First thing to be fixed is to remove the chrome plating, as it looks a bit too heavy.
Molding quality looks good on initial inspection.
Plastic Parts 1.JPG
Plastic Parts 2.JPG
Tires:
Ebbro’s tires are beautifully pre-printed with the G-Year logos. Although I typically like to scrub them in a bit, I may be tempted to leave them as is. We’ll see.
Tires.JPG
Decals:
I don’t particularly like the wide expanses of black in the kit decals, as I have concern for clear-coating them, and causing some finish issues. So, I have a set of after-market decals for Tabu, including the JPS logos. I would prefer they have a black border, as some of the kit decals do, but “we takes what we gets” sometimes. I’ll work it out.
Decals.JPG
Detail Parts: