M23 1973 Yardley WIP

A special Forum for the McLaren M23 series of F1 race cars.

Topic author
adamg1987
Backmarker
Backmarker

M23 1973 Yardley WIP

Post by adamg1987 »

Hello to all, please go easy on me this is my first attempt at modeling since my gluebombed attempts as a small child, i started this project about a year ago and quickly realised the depth i had got my self into i purchased some cheaper kits to practise on but too this day am yet to finish one :) as this is a first build for me it is mostly about getting a clean build and not so much a 100% accurate model but feel free to guide me in anyway possible we all need start somewhere :)

The Kit is a 1973 M23 as driven by E.fittipaldi after some research and looking at the different M23's i decided i wanted to go for a different livery and chose the Yardley Livery. the build itself will be fairly oob with the obvious change of livery and some braided lines to liven up the Engine bay. of course i might get carried away as i have found most people do so this may change during the build. anyway progress to this date.

First part i managed to start, still not finished need to add the tops to the reservoirs will add them once they're painted will add the front subframe and battery once this part is glued into the chassis

Chassis complete with the drivers cockpit and front suspension to test fit, also added the radiators and rear firewall at this time. Orange is Tamiya TS-56 which i believe is to be a close match to the Mclaren orange

Rest of bodypanels need cleaning up prior to primer and paint, i am also going to try to modify the opening on the airbox to that of a 1973 Yardley

The Yardley decals from Indycals, excellent turnaround from these guys and superquick delivery considering they had to cross the pond :)

Front discs just need to touch up the calipers with some flat black