Dayknyc
Spectator
Spectator
Your Name: Day Krolik
Favorite F1 Team or Driver: Lewis Hamilton
United States of America

MFH Ferrari 312/67 1/12

Post by Dayknyc »

I am brand-new to this forum. I am primarily a mechanic/restorer of full-scale Jaguars and Ferraris. In addition, I have always enjoyed building scale model kits: Tamiya, Pocher and now MFH. I spent two years building an MFH 1/12 Ferrari 250 GTO simply because I wanted a good model of that beautiful car. Through minimal skill but a great deal of meticulous care and perseverance, it actually came out very well.

I am now starting the MFH 1/12 Ferrari 312/1967. I realize I have nothing close to the model building expertise of many on this forum, but I'm anxious to learn.

Question number one: rivets. What type should I use? Do I paint the body, then drill the body and then separately paint and insert the rivets? Do I drill the body before I paint it?

With the 250 GTO I used Tamiya lacquer, which I then polished. Polishing rivets after they have been applied could certainly create a problem. What do you experts recommend? I have seen 2K clearcoat recommended to both set rivets and create a nice gloss finish. Is this the way to go? What 2K clearcoat is recommended?

Question number two: drilling very small holes in very small spaces. This MFH model requires the drilling of .6 mm holes accurately in the middle of a 1.2 mm piece of white metal. I have a Dremel drill press and have certainly learned to work with magnifying glasses, but how do you experts drill such holes so accurately?

While I don't aspire to the expertise of many of you on this forum, if I am going to continue to do these MFH models, I would certainly like to learn as much as possible and "up my game." Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

43rdMichael
FOTA Chairman
FOTA Chairman

Re: MFH Ferrari 312/67 1/12

Post by 43rdMichael »

Firstly welcome!