Please note that the Forum login system is now separate from F1M.com's. If you have had issues logging into the Forums, try resetting your password at: https://forum.f1m.com/app.php/user/forgot_password

Also, you must login with your username and not your email address.

Protar Ferrari T2 fuel tanks size

Ask away...
Post Reply
User avatar

Topic author
mazyen
Midfield
Midfield
Posts: 447
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 5:34 am
Location: Rwanda

Protar Ferrari T2 fuel tanks size

Post by mazyen »

HI,

I'm presently refurbishing my old Protar Ferrari T2 & am just seeking verification from you guys whether the kit fuel tanks size is correct as the 2 solid rubber blocks on either side of the cockpit are so small. If they are wrong, I'll just glue down the side pods and be done with it.

BTW, the kit's soft rubber parts (tires included) have melted any plastic parts that they are in contact with.

Cheers
Lee
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar

CK
Minor Constructor
Minor Constructor
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 9:38 am
Location: Canada

Re: Protar Ferrari T2 fuel tanks size

Post by CK »

Hi Lee,

I do some search and only find one cutaway drawing of the 312T that has this small fuel tank. I believe it is an early version. All other cutaway drawings of either 312T or 312T2 show a fuel tank fully occupying that sidepod area. Tamiya's 312T also depicts a full size fuel tank with aluminum skin which is correct according some photos.

I have the Protoar 1/12 312T and luckly discovered early that the rubber parts would melt the polystyrene parts. I plan to use the original tires as masters and make molds out of them of replacement. All other rubber parts need to be scratch built.
C K
Canada
User avatar

Topic author
mazyen
Midfield
Midfield
Posts: 447
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 5:34 am
Location: Rwanda

Re: Protar Ferrari T2 fuel tanks size

Post by mazyen »

Hi CK,

Thanks for the info. Somehow, I don't think the 2 small tanks will last a race. If it is the early version, most probably they were used during tests.
In that case I'll just glue down the side pods & be done with it. I also got a Tamiya 312T in my stash as reference. The Protar T2 also have an extremely large front wing.

Lee
User avatar

CK
Minor Constructor
Minor Constructor
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 9:38 am
Location: Canada

Re: Protar Ferrari T2 fuel tanks size

Post by CK »

Hi Lee,

Protar is not known for accuracy for their models. You always have to do some research and modifications for accurate models.
C K
Canada
Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post