3D Drawing/Printing Computer/Software advice needed!!

Post away...

Topic author
JamesB
FOTA Chairman
FOTA Chairman

3D Drawing/Printing Computer/Software advice needed!!

Post by JamesB »

Hi guys.
Again asking for the help of this great group :D
Let's see... here's again the old classic PS sheet+epoxy putty old fashion modeler trying to upgrade to modern modeler :lol:
I won'ty deny it's with great envy I see you guys do excellent stuff with 3D printers... (Christian, Thomas, anyone listening in Germany? :lol: :lol: Edgar?? a bit nearer...? :lol: ) and surely I'd try to have a go myself.
I admit I'd be happy with things such as mechanical parts to start with.
So far I've tried with 123D from Autodesk. It's probably a crappy program I know.
I usually see how lost people are when it comes to decal printing. I have been doing that for some 20 years now (hell time flies!! :cry: :o ) and I see how people miss a varied array of things, as if decals draw themselves, or if just with a picture you press a key and get a wonderful decal. So I know from both sides that you don't know how much you don't know, when you don't know. So I am quite aware that I am in this same case.
Lets see, I don't know if, for instance, I draw a thing with 123D, and regardless its a quite simple thing, the crappiness of the software with which it was done makes it even worse. I don't know the process between the drawing and the printable thing and I don't really know how much detail can be lost.

Then (partly from this) comes the importance of software. I'd want something that quite simply allows to draw precise shapes as I can do with Corel or Autocad, and then extrude, rotate, slice, sum and rest solids etc, chisel, roundish... not much more. I tried Meshmixer and honestly did not know where to start from, for instance.
So I'd like to know from you guys what softwares would allow the red text target above, and what computer specs are you needing for this.