Modern IndyCar "Scratchbuild"

Beware of all the tiny parts...

For all posts related to 43rd scale models.

Topic author
dgwoodward2
Midfield
Midfield
Your Name: Don Woodward
Favorite F1 Team or Driver: Senna
United States of America

Modern IndyCar "Scratchbuild"

Post by dgwoodward2 »

So I had been going back and forth with myself whether or not to do a post on this. Well, one side finally won out and here it is. First, I love the 1/43 scale. Most times there is not quite as much detail, there are not many that do it, the subject matter can be limited, etc. But what it does do is exercise a different level of process in working with materials that not all builders might experience. That being said, I really wanted to build some version of a newer version IndyCar that was based on the ones that had previously been produced by Tameo and the late Colin Fraser. Since I have plenty of experience with those and even unbuilt versions in the closet, I decided to see what I could do to actually manufacturer a car that would be of similar materials and structure to those previously produced.

As a result, after fiddling with some very exceptional 3D prints available for purchase I decided to dive head on into making a car or two. The steps I have completed thus far are the following: